Minutes of Meeting Maintenance & Reliability Subcommittee of the Ethylene Producers Committee

DATE: September 10, 2015

LOCATION: SASOL, Westlake, LA, hosted by Samantha Borssen

Minutes written by: Dane DeRouen & Keith Wade

MEMBERS ATTENDING:

In person: Samantha Borssen, Sasol Dane DeRouen, BASF David Harrison, Eastman Dave Sankey, BASF Keith Wade, Zeeco By phone: Mike Pelton, LyondellBassell Paul Van Helmond, Linde

The meeting started at 9:07 am.

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Read anti-trust statement
- 3. Review agenda
- 4. Review & approve previous meeting minutes
- 5. Develop list of 2016 paper topics
- 6. Review proposed subcommittee bylaws
- 7. Other subcommittee business
- 8. Adjourn

PROCEEDINGS

The meeting began with the reading of the anti-trust statement.

Minutes from the previous meeting were reviewed and approved.

- Confirmed Keith Wade as session chair and Mike Pelton as session co-chair for the AIChE 2016 spring meeting.
- David Harrison confirmed his hosting of the next meeting at Eastman on October 15.
- Dane said he will continue to follow-up with inactive members to encourage attendance and/or a replacement on the subcommittee.

Keith gave a brief report on the meeting between him and Mike Pelton to review the paper topics list. He said at this time, no common theme has developed.

The list of topics was reviewed. Refer to the attached Excel file for comments, updates, and status of each topic. It was noted that five to six topic with presenters committed to developing papers are really needed by the next meeting, so we need to push to firm up the list.

Dane said he would inform Tim Zygula (BASF) of the main EPC committee that Keith and Mike are the session leaders. (*Post-meeting note: Dane informed Tim via email immediately following the meeting.*)

Next, the proposed subcommittee rules (2015-09-08 MtcSub-Rules_Rev0.doc) were reviewed and approved without further comment. Dane will send these to Paul Van Helmond for submittal to the main EPC. Also, Jorge Blanco was elected vice chair of the subcommittee to fill that role defined in the rules. As previously established, Dane DeRouen is the subcommittee chair and Paul Van Helmond is the Director and serves as the liaison with the main EPC committee.

Paul noted that the EPC website is a good resource for policies and procedures, author guidelines, meeting minutes, and other information. That website is: www.aiche.org/epc

Other Subcommittee business discussed is summarized as follows:

- 1. Important dates for paper development & submittal:
 - Main EPC call for papers is open now until Nov. 2
 - All abstracts are to be uploaded by Dec. 1
 - Changes can be made to abstracts Dec. 1-15
 - Final papers are due to main EPC for uploading March 15, 2016
 - Draft presentations are due to the EPC March 29
- 2. The 2016 spring meeting will be at the Hilton of the Americas in Houston (Apr. 10-14, 2016)
- 3. Main EPC meetings are scheduled for Sept. 24, Oct. 29, Dec. 10 and Feb. 4 (2016).
- 4. These next meeting dates were for the M&R subcommittee:
 - Thursday, Oct. 15, 2015 to be hosted by David Harrison at Eastman Chemical, Longview, TX
 - Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2015 to be hosted by Mike Pelton at LyondellBassell
 - Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015 to be hosted by Dave/Dane at BASF-TOTAL, Port Arthur, TX

No other new business was brought forth.

The meeting adjourned at 11:07.

Attachments: "2016 Maintenance & Reliability Session Topics update 2015-09-10.xlsx" "2015-09-08 MtcSub-Rules Rev0.doc"