EPC MAINTENANCE & RELIABILITY SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING

Location: Pujo St. Cafe, Lake Charles, LA Date: Thursday, July 12, 2018

Minutes Written By: Dane DeRouen

MEMBERS ATTENDING:

In Person: Jorge Blanco (ARVOS) Dane DeRouen (BASF) David Harrison (Eastman) Sanjeev Kapur (APEX)

Dave Sankey (BASF) Paul Van Helmond (Linde) Keith Wade (Zeeco) John Weikel (BASF)

Phone:

(No call-in for this meeting)

Linda Robinson (KnightHawk)

The meeting was called to order at approximately 6:12 PM.

Proceedings:

- I. Dane DeRouen called the meeting to order and introductions were made around the table.
- II. The anti-trust statement was read.
- III. The agenda was reviewed.
- IV. Approved previous meeting minutes.

V. Review of membership list and new member voting

- a. Linda Robinson, Assistant Chief Engineer at KnightHawk Engineering was invited to join the subcommittee. She presented a summary of her experience, which includes failure analysis, troubleshooting, and specialty design for static and rotating equipment in ethylene plants. Linda was voted into membership unanimously by those present.
- b. Jorge Blanco proposed that René Kulik of ARVOS Schmidtsche Schack be considered for membership at a future meeting, as he will be based in Houston starting in August.
- c. The existing membership list was reviewed. It was agreed that those listed that have not been active in the last year will be contacted, asked if they want to participate in the subcommittee, and removed from the list if no response.
- d. Companies with inactive members will be contacted for new members. Sanjeev, Paul, and Jorge agreed to make those contacts. Dane will confirm by email who each agreed to call.

- VI. Election of new officers
 - a. <u>Subcommittee chair: Tom Garza (CP Chem)</u> was nominated and voted unanimously to replace Dane DeRouen. Dane will contact Tom to confirm that he will accept the position since he was not in attendance. Paul thanked Dane for leading the subcommittee for the last three years.
 - b. <u>Subcommittee co-chair: John Weikel (BASF)</u> was voted in and he accepted, succeeding David Harrison.
 - c. <u>Session chair: Shailendra Inamdar (Linde)</u> was nominated and voted unanimously to lead the session effort. Dane will contact Shailendra to confirm that he will accept the position since he was not in attendance.
 - d. <u>Session co-chair: David Harrison (Eastman)</u> was voted in and he accepted.
 - e. As a member of the main EPC committee, Sanjeev Kapur (APEX PetroConsultants) was proposed to replace Paul Van Helmond as our subcommittee Director, who is stepping down from this role. Sanjeev was voted in as the new Director.
- VII. Review of 2018 EPC session, critique sheets & lessons learned
 - a. Critique sheets of the session were passed around for review.
 - b. Jorge Blanco provided a summary of how the 2018 session went. Feedback was mostly all positive and the use of paper hand-out author bios worked well.
 - c. It was noted that the conference next year is March 31 April 4, 2019 in New Orleans.
- VIII. Topics & themes for 2019 EPC session brainstorming session
 - a. Began by reviewing topics list from last year and items that were held as possible future topics.
 - b. Noted suggestions from critique sheets.
 - c. Topics discussed included:
 - 1. Plate & frame heat exchangers in quench water service (Alfa Laval)
 - 2. Furnace radiant coils: damage mechanisms, new alloys, etc.
 - 3. Safe Operating Windows, application to reliability & maintenance (Sanjeev)
 - 4. Sparing philosophy both for new plants and reliability (Paul)
 - 5. Flaring, initiatives to lower steam (Keith)
 - 6. Coil outlet temperature measurement methods (WIKA)
 - 7. Industry 4.0 applications
 - 8. Indorama's start-up
 - 9. See attachment for details.

IX. Next Meetings

- a. Wednesday, August 8 was proposed and Dane will ask if Mike Pelton can host at LyondellBasell.
- b. Wednesday, September 12, with host to be determined.
- X. Meeting Adjourned at 8:10 PM.