# **EPC MAINTENANCE & RELIABILITY SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING**

Location: Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen, 4040 I-10, Beaumont, TX
Date: Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Minutes Written By: Dane DeRouen

### Attendees:

#### In Person:

Jorge Blanco (ARVOS)

Sanjeev Kapur (Apex)

David Harrison (Eastman)

Tatiana Randall (Flint Hills)

Bruce Scott (Flint Hills)

Dave Sankey (BASF)

John Weikel (BASF)

Emily Leturno (DuPont)

David Harrison (Eastman)

Tatiana Randall (Flint Hills)

Bruce Scott (Flint Hills)

Zahi Youwakim (Huntsman)

Paul Van Helmond (Linde)

Keith Wade (Zeeco)

# By Phone:

N/A

The meeting was called to order at approximately 5:45 PM.

## **Proceedings:**

- I. Dane DeRouen began the meeting began with opening remarks and introductions. New members and visitors were welcomed. Jorge Blanco/ARVOS, Paul Van Helmond/Linde, and Keith Wade/Zeeco were thanked for sponsoring the dinner.
- II. The anti-trust statement was read.
- III. Meeting minutes from the March meeting were read and approved.
  - a. Sanjeev Kapur noted that the Omni Press document database platform is changing this year. The transition from the old system to the new system means a delay to the conference proceedings being posted online.
- IV. Had discussion on resources available on the EPC website (<a href="www.aiche.org/epc">www.aiche.org/epc</a>), including training presentations made available by the Knowledge Management subcommittee. It was suggested to have Sanjeev Kapur and Paul Van Helmond at a future meeting demonstrate navigating the website and locating training resources.
- V. Reviewed the membership list. Dane noted that new members will be added once they confirm their interest in formally participating.
- VI. The next order of business was to elect subcommittee officers. Several experienced subcommittee members explained the basic organization and functions of the subcommittee for new members and visitors.
  - a. Dane DeRouen was re-elected subcommittee chair.
  - b. David Harrison was re-elected subcommittee co-chair.

- c. It was agreed to postpone election of session chair and co-chair, but Paul Van Helmond nominated Shailendra Inamdar (Linde) as session co-chair.
- VII. A copy of the 2017 session comment sheets was circulated for review.
- VIII. Conducted a brainstorming session on paper topics for the 2018 session, reviewing a list of items from last year, from this year's session comments, and other suggestions submitted by subcommittee members. Refer to the attached paper topics list for details. Some high-level topics of interest included:
  - a. Corrosion, with a possible tutorial
  - b. Fitness for Service "real applications"
  - c. Big Data / Industry 4.0 "real applications"
- IX. Discussion on cooperation with the European EPC maintenance work group was tabled for a future meeting due to time constraint.
- X. Next meetings were scheduled:
  - a. Wednesday, July 19, 9:00am, hosted by Flint Hills in Port Arthur, TX
  - b. Wednesday, August 23, 10:00am (if Houston locale). Dane will ask Chinh Dang at Technip FMC to host.

Meeting concluded at approximately 8:00pm.