Andrej Lenert | AIChE

Andrej Lenert

Citation name

Lenert, A.


University of Michigan





Andrej Lenert is currently an assistant professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Michigan. His research is at the intersection of heat transfer, optics, and nanomaterials, and focuses on developing new approaches for control of energy transport with the goal of enabling greater integration of renewables. He received his PhD from MIT in 2014, where he worked under the supervision of Evelyn N. Wang, and was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Michigan prior to his appointment there. Dr. Lenert is the recipient of several awards including the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award, Forbes 30 under 30 (Science), Silent Hoist and Crane Award, Martin Family Fellowship for Sustainability, and the Ormat-MIT Energy Fellow. His work on thermophotovoltaic materials and devices has been cited as one of the “10 Breakthrough Technologies of 2017” and the “Biggest Clean Energy Advances in 2016” by the MIT Tech Review.

Sessions chaired or co-chaired

Advanced Electrochemical Storage
2017 Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1102-8)
Electronic and Photonic Materials Devices and Theory
2018 AIChE Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1108-0)
Materials for Electronics, Lighting, and Light-Matter Interactions
2021 Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1116-5)
Materials for Electronics, Lighting, and Light-Matter Interactions
2022 Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1118-9)
Nanostructured/Thin Film Photovoltaics
2022 Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1118-9)
T&EP Graduate Student Award Session
2022 Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1118-9)
TEP Graduate Student Award Session
2023 AIChE Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1120-2)


(257g) Plasmon-Enhanced Greenhouse Effect
2020 Virtual AIChE Annual Meeting (ISBN: 978-0-8169-1114-1)

Associated proceedings 

2016 AIChE Annual Meeting
2017 Annual Meeting
2018 AIChE Annual Meeting
2019 AIChE Annual Meeting
2020 Virtual AIChE Annual Meeting
2021 Annual Meeting
2022 Annual Meeting
2023 AIChE Annual Meeting