(174f) Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Ni-B-Y2O3 Composite Coatings | AIChE

(174f) Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Ni-B-Y2O3 Composite Coatings


Shakoor, A., Qatar University
Gao, W., The University of Auckland

Ni-B coatings have decent properties such as high hardness, wear resistance and promising anti-corrosion properties which make them suitable for automotive, aerospace, petrochemical, textile and electronics industries. Despite these promising properties, further improvement in their properties is essential so that more challenging requirements and new developments can be fully addressed. Taking a note of the above contemplation, novel Ni-B-Y2O3 composite coatings were synthesized through electrodeposition process. In the present study, a comparison of structural, thermal and mechanical properties of Ni-B and Ni-B-Y2O3 composite coatings is presented to elucidate the useful role of Y2O3 addition to Ni-B matrix. XRD analysis confirms the amorphous nature of Ni-B coatings in their as deposited state. However, there is considerable improvement in crystallinity by the addition of Y2O3 particlesintoNi-B matrix. SEM analysis demonstrates the formation of uniform and fine-grained deposits in both coatings. However, AFM studies disclose that addition of insoluble Y2O3 into Ni-B matrix increases the surface roughness. Finally, it is also noticed that mechanical properties (hardness and modulus of elasticity) of Ni-B matrix can be significantly improved by incorporation of insoluble, hard ceramic particles (Y2O3) which make them attractive for many applications. This improvement in mechanical properties of Ni-B matrix can be attributed to the strong dispersion hardening effect of Y2O3 hard particleswhich hinders the movement of dislocations.



This paper has an Extended Abstract file available; you must purchase the conference proceedings to access it.


Do you already own this?



AIChE Pro Members $150.00
AIChE Graduate Student Members Free
AIChE Undergraduate Student Members Free
AIChE Explorer Members $225.00
Non-Members $225.00