Many volunteers have provided guidance for AIChE to become a leading society with interests in the developing field of energy. These dedicated scientists include:

  • Dale Keairns, Chair, Booz Allen Hamilton and 2008 AIChE President
  • Bond Calloway, Savanah River National Laboratory and Chair of AIChE’s Research and New Technology Committee
  • Dr. John Chen, Professor and Dean Emeritus, Lehigh University, AIChE President ‘06
  • Scott Fogler, Univ. of Michigan and 2009 AIChE President
  • Haroon S. Kheshgi, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Co.
  • Darlene Schuster, Director of AIChE’s Institute for Sustainability (IfS)
  • Subhas Sikdar, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and Chair of the IfS Managing Board
  • June Wispelwey, AIChE Executive Director

Please let us know at energy@aiche.org if you would like to volunteer your time to help.

Corporate Involvement

SAIC has become a silver sponsor of AIChE's Energy Metrics Initiative and e-Newsletter. SAIC is a FORTUNE 500® scientific, engineering, and technology applications company that uses its deep domain knowledge to solve problems of vital importance to the nation and the world, in national security, energy and the environment, critical infrastructure, and health.


  • Sustainable Energy Award 
  • 2008 AIChE Energy Prize

    The Energy Prize Student Paper Award was presented to those undergraduate student members of AIChE who submitted outstanding papers that examined local short-term solutions to improve the energy equation in a state or metropolitan area. 2008 winners were:

    • First Place:  Elizabeth Carter, Northwestern University
      “Electricity in Illinois – What Next?”
    • Second Place: John Casey Campbell, University of South Carolina
      “A Comparison of Energy Savings Strategy for the Vacuum Distillation of Acetic Acid/Acetic Annhydride”
    • Third Place: Pradnya Bhawalker, Rice University 
      “Automatic Control Systems for Efficient Facilities Management”