Programming Committee

Programming Committee Chair

Donald J. Chmielewski (chmielewski@iit.edu)

Programming Logistics Committee

Liam O'Rourke Emily J. Kunkel

Programming Area Committees

Biomedical, Pharmaceutical and Nano-Engineering

<u>Topics</u>: Tissue engineering; Biomaterials; Pharmaceutical processes; Drug Delivery; Physiological Systems; Computational and systems biology; Biophysics, biointerfaces and biosensors; Nano-engineering for biomedical applications

Programming Committee:

- o Shyam Vaidya (chair)
- o Zoltan Nagy
- Salvador Garcia-Munoz
- *Georgia Papavasiliou* (past chair)

Purdue Eli Lilly Illinois Institute of Technology

Abbott Laboratories

Illinois Institute of Technology

Fauske & Associates

Sargent & Lundy

Catalysis and Reaction Engineering:

<u>*Topics*</u>: Advances in reaction engineering and reactor analysis; Atomic layer deposition; Photoand electrocatalysis; Environmental catalysis; Polymer reaction engineering; Novel catalytic materials; Catalytic processing of biomass

Programming Committee:

0	<i>Justin Notestein</i> (chair)	Northwestern
0	Nancy Kariuki	Argonne National Laboratory
0	Eric Doskocil	BP
0	Victor Sussman	Dow Chemical

Energy and Sustainability

 Tanics: Novel, renewable and alterna

<u>Topics</u>: Novel, renewable and alternative energy systems, including fossil fuel power plants, cogeneration, wind and solar generation, smart grid, fuel cell systems, bio-fuels, gasification processes, waste to energy processes; Life cycle analysis; Water resource analysis Programming Committee:

- *Hamid Arastoopour* (chair)
- Ignasi Palou-Riveva
- Victor Zavala
- Jordan Ciezobka (past chair)

Illinois Institute of Technology LanzaTech University of Wisconsin Gas Technology Institute

Environmental Engineering

<u>Topics</u>: Environmental regulation and compliance; waste water management; solid waste management, air pollution control

Programming Committee:

- Gerardo Ruiz-Mercado (chair)
- Amid Khodadoust

US EPA University of Illinois at Chicago

AIChE Midwest Regional Conference March 3-4, 2016 – Chicago, IL

• Jarad Champion

• Urmilia Diwekar (past chair)

Geosyntec Vishwamitra Research Institute

Fluid Properties, Fluid Dynamics and Transport Phenomena

<u>Topics</u>: Rheology; Computational fluid dynamics; Fluidization and particulate processing; Heat transfer and separations technology; Flow in confined systems; Self-assembly; Gels; Blends composites, suspensions and colloids

Programming Committee:

0	<i>Lubo Zhou</i> (chair)	UOP/Honeywell
0	Paul Kenis	University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
0	Kiran Gupte	BP
0	Lewis Wedgewood (past chair)	University of Illinois at Chicago

Process Engineering and Optimization

<u>Topics</u>: Design and development of novel unit operations; Nonlinear optimization; Pilot plants and scale-up; Process optimization and control; Process operations management; Process modeling and simulation

Programming Committee:

- Carl Laird (chair)
- William Hollar
- Dennis O'Brien
- Rajeswar Gattupalli (past chair)

Purdue SABIC Innovative Plastics Jacobs Consultancy UOP/Honeywell

Process Safety and Occupational Health

<u>Topics</u>: Process safety management; Occupational safety and health; Quantitative risk assessment; Consequence modeling; OSHA regulatory changes; Incident investigation; Near misses; Management of change, Process hazards analysis; Instrumented safeguards; Reliability analysis

Programming Committee:

- Janet Grezlik (chair)
 Qingsheng (Sam) Wang
 Process Safety and Reliability Group
 Oklahoma State University
- Brenton Cox
- Peter Herena (past chair)

Oklahoma State University Exponent BakerRisk

Refining and Petrochemical Processing

<u>Topics</u>: Distillation; Catalytic processing of fuels and petrochemicals; Feedstock flexibility; Unit revamps; Fouling and corrosion; Reliability and maintenance; Operability and troubleshooting; Hydrocarbon characterization; Product quality issues; Advanced fuel development; Gas processing and hydrogen generation; Project management; Novel refining technologies; Refinery economic studies

Programming Committee:

0	Paolo Palmas (chair)	UOP/Honeywell
0	Chenn Zhou	Purdue-Calumet
0	Jeffery Zalc	BP
0	Martin Gonzalez (past chair)	BP