Important Notice: Limited Web Access Dec 16 to 18, 2016

AIChE will undertake a routine upgrade of our digital infrastructure over the weekend of December 16-18, 2016. During this period access to certain areas of the website will be limited. Additional information will be forthcoming shortly.

Particle Technology Forum Award

This award recognizes a forum member's lifetime outstanding scientific/technical contributions to the field of particle technology, as well as leadership in promoting scholarship, research, development, service and/or education in this field. The award is contingent on a candidate meeting the above criteria and may not be awarded every year.

Selection criteria:

  1. Nominee must have been the member of AIChE-PTF for prior 3 calendar years at time of nomination and have not won another PTF award in previous three calendar years
  2. An outstanding contributor to the field of particle technology who has also made significant lifetime contributions to PTF through their scholarship, service and enthusiasm for the field
  3. The awardee will deliver a presentation at the AIChE Annual Meeting in a PTF award session
Deadline: Initial nomination: March 23, 2016; Complete package: May 11, 2016
March 23, 2016
Award Administrator(s): 

Award consists of $1,000, a plaque, and two tickets to PTF award dinner

The award is presented at a Forum sponsored event during the AIChE Annual Meeting. Awarded to candidates who have made significant contributions to PTF through their service and enthusiasm for the field as identified and selected by the PTF executive committee. The award is contingent on a candidate meeting the above criteria and may not be awarded every year.

Nomination procedure and package contents:

  • Initial nomination must be submitted no later than March 23, 2016 and can be made here
  • Full nomination package is due latest by May 11, 2016 and should consist of a single PDF file that contains all of the following items to be sent to
  1. Filled nomination form (a blank form which will be sent to you after your nomination is received)
  2. A two page letter of nomination stating how the nominee contributed to the field of particle technology in terms of scholarship, research, development, service and education
  3. At least three and no more than five supporting letters
  4. Either the nominator or one of the supporting letter providers must be a current PTF member and a prior PTF award winner in any category
  5. If the nominee has previously received any award from AIChE or one of its divisions/forums, an explicit statement of new accomplishments or work over and above those cited for the earlier award(s) must be included (max. of one double spaced page).
  6. Selected bibliography (including books, patents, and major papers published).

Award Winners

Darsh Wasan
John Carson
Karl Jacob
Dimitri Gidaspow
John Grace
Daniel Rosner
Joachim Werther
Ted Knowlton
L.S. Fan
L.T. Fan
Doug Fuerstenau
J. Schwedes
George Klinzing
Chi Tien
Brian Kaye
S. K. Friedlander
B. Scarlett
A. W. Jenike